Frog: NOTICE: Please disable blacklist auto-updating in Frog!!!

Tuesday 13 September 2005, 14:02:00 | python

Concerning FROG:

I just found out that the owner of the MT-blacklist file, that Frog uses as anti-spammer blacklist, has blocked my IP address. Apparently because Frog downloads that file too often (default: once per 4 hours).

(!) I urge the users of Frog to DISABLE THE AUTO-UPDATE FEATURE !

You risk the same IP-blockage as me, or you may already be blocked. Check this by looking at the last update timestamp of the blacklist, you can see this in Frog's about page. You can disable the auto-update feature by removing the lines in Frog's __init__.py file that create a scheduled update task. It's probably safest to put a bogus URL in antispam/blacklist.py too. If you need more information, just ask. Sorry for the trouble.

When you disable it this, your blacklist will ofcourse not be updated anymore. But worse: if Frog has not yet downloaded a copy of the blacklist, you won't have a blacklist file at all!

So either run Frog ONCE, it will download the blacklist file, stop Frog, and disable the autoupdate feature as explained in the original message. You can also download a fairly recent copy of the blacklist file from my website. Save the file in your blogdata directory and you're set. (note that I will NOT update the blacklist file on that location)

I hope to have a more permanent solution soon in a future version of Frog.

Update, 11-okt: The MT-blacklist service has been discontinued :-/

People have replied:

Irmen de Jong

2005-10-11 03:32:00

In Frog release 1.7 I have disabled the auto-update feature due to the problem described above. I haven't heard back from the maintainer of the blacklist, so I don't know if it will be fixed soon :-(

Update: The MT-blacklist service has been discontinued :-/ This means that I will remove the auto-update feature and just use a fixed blacklist file that you will have to update yourself.

Irmen de Jong

2005-12-16 14:40:00

In release 1.8 the auto-update feature has been removed. It's been replaced with regularly scanning the (local) blacklist file to see if that one has been updated on disk. If you put a new blacklist file in place, it will be picked up automatically after a short while. But you have to update the file manually.